The U21 Health Sciences Group was born out of the U21 Deans of Medicine and Nursing Meeting held at the National University of Singapore in 2000. It was established so as to provide staff and students within the U21 member institutions with a framework for exploring opportunities for collaborative research, information exchange, and sharing of resources across the Health Sciences.

In 2001 the group expanded to include the disciplines of Dentistry and Health and Rehabilitation Sciences. Following this, a Secretariat was established and by 2003 the group grew further to include Pharmacy, Public Health and Midwifery as members of the Executive Committee. The Secretariat is currently hosted by the University of Birmingham.

Our group continues to grow from strength to strength and currently consists of 18 member institutions worldwide, across 12 different countries and 6 continents.

Group members from all disciplines meet face to face at our U21 Health Sciences Group Annual Meeting where they have the opportunity to come together to share ideas and collaborate on both new and established projects.

Since 2003, our Annual Meetings have been hosted by The University of Queensland (2004), Lund University (2005), The University of Nottingham (2006), The University of Hong Kong (2007), The University of Virginia (2008), Tecnológico de Monterrey (2010), Korea University (2011), The University of Auckland (2012) and University College Dublin (2013), Fudan University (2014), Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile (2015) and University of Birmingham (2016), University of Johannesburg (2017) and the University of Melbourne (2018). The 2019 Annual Meeting will be held by the University of Glasgow.

U21 HSG - Key benefits for students

Watch a brief overview of the key benefits on offer for students as part of being a member of the HSG