The Teaching Excellence Award was set up in 2014 by Deans of Medicine as a way to celebrate and reward exceptional educational scholarship, particularly amongst research intensive universities, across the U21 HSG network.  The Award is our way to recognise leaders in this area and share their areas of good practice across the network.

The Award also helps us to nurture international cooperation, one of U21’s key objectives, by offering faculty from different universities, and regions, to work together on exciting, interdisciplinary projects.   

What does the Award offer?

As well as the prestige of winning the award, the award offers two nominees from different universities, and ideally, from different disciplines, funding to attend the U21 HSG Annual Meeting 2020.

The two winners will be required to work together to facilitate an educational workshop that will be delivered at the U21 HSG Annual Meeting.

Who is it aimed at?

The award is principally aimed at early to mid-career academics across the U21 HSG. It offers applicants a fantastic opportunity to develop new collaborations, to work internationally and to share their joint expertise with others.

Nominees must be faculty or instructors in one of the U21 HSG member universities and hold a position with a significant component of teaching. They are expected to have had 5-10 years of teaching experience.

How will the winners be selected?

Each member institution has their own Teaching Excellence Award representative to manage the internal Expressions of Interest and selection process and to meet the final submission deadline.

The representative is to submit the final (one) application on behalf of the applicant by June 2020 (Date TBC), via email to

This will then be reviewed by the Selection committee who will announce the winners at the Annual Meeting in August 2020, hosted by University College Dublin.

Selection committee

The selection committee will include the following:



  • April: Award is open for applications

  • June: Deadline for universities to submit their nominee

  • July: Winners designated by selection committee

  • August: Winners announced at U21 HSG Annual Meeting at the University College Dublin


  • September: Winners to facilitate workshop at the U21 HSG meeting (Host TBC)


Please contact Corrina Greenwood, U21 HSG Secretariat for further details.  

Teaching Excellence Award Workshop and Winners 2018, U21 HSG Annual Meeting, University of Glasgow